Nail techs, please help a beginner out!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hellocaitlin

Reaction score
Dear Nail Techs,

I’m currently saving up for some training, but I’m not sure which training to go with! If anyone could take a look at two training courses I’ve been looking at and help me through choosing I’d be so appreciative.

I’m a complete beginner, and I’d love to be able to take care of natural nails, polish with gel, and sculpt nail extensions. I’m not sure whether I’d prefer to do gel or acrylic extensions yet.

Course one:

“CND™ Liquid and Powder Beginners

This is a 6 day course with an on-line home study (the 6 days are non-consecutive - spread over 6 weeks).

£625.00 + VAT / €750.00

The CND™ Liquid & Powder course develops your skills using our unique Retention+™ technology to create strong, durable enhancements with superior clarity and brightness and scratch resistant, ultra smooth finish. The pre-class home study is added to enhance your learning and increase your hands-on time in class.

A detailed description of what is covered on each day:
Home Study - You will receive a textbook once your booking is confirmed. You will be required to study the book and complete the online pre-assessment prior to attending day 1. The pass rate is 70%. You can take the pre-assessment as many times as you need.

Day 1 - Health and Safety, Contraindications, Natural Nail Anatomy, Preparation of the Natural Nail, Introduction to the Nail Shapes, Table Set Up.
Day 2 - Liquid and Powder science and product overview, Mix Ratio, Zone Sculpting, Finishing Technique, CND™ 5 Point Polish Method.
Day 3 - Tip Application, Application Practice.
Day 4 - Elements of Good Design, Form Application, Sculpting on Forms, Removal, Vinylux™ Application.
Day 5 - Rebalance and Removal.
Day 6 - Practical Assessment.

Additional Information:
Your course includes a kit worth £300/€360