Need advice on nail tech/service courses in London

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

missmaryjane

Reaction score
Hi guys.
I've been doing research on nail training courses but the more i'm researching the more confused i'm getting.

I'm looking for a full training course for a complete newbie. From mani- pedi to enhancements to nail art including all the theory and practical. I'm planning on working in a salon (at home and internationally) for experience and eventually opening my own salon one day.

This is where i get confused and i apologise if these questions sound ridiculous.:eek:

Nail services vs nail technology: what is the difference if there is any?

ITEC vs Abs vs City Guilds? Nvq ,Vrq, Vtct? Which is the best? is there a huge difference? are they recognised internationally? Is the ITEC the only one that is recognised internationally? what about company courses like CND? kits provided by courses are they worth buying or is it better to buy my own kit?

What should I be looking for in a course?

As there are a lot of intense 3-5 days course i'm worried it's not enough time to learn everything and pass the exams. My fears are to sign up for a course and find out in the end, the course wasn't done at industry level and wasted my time and money on a scam and not be able to find a job.

So all you lovely experienced nail techs, please share your training experiences and any recommendations on courses and advice are more than appreciated.

Thank you ladies.

I still don't know the differences between all the different qualifications. :lol: I've called and asked colleges and training schools and they all tell me each one is what's recognised in the UK (but ITEC is internationally recognised), and I'm still none the wiser.