New business advice please

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

yazzhussain

Reaction score
Hi…..I’m new to this platform so hello all!
:)
Myself and my friend are looking to start up an aesthetics business in skin and body care. It’s a big commitment for the both of us as we are both in different f/t fields and have families to
Support etc.
We have recently been to beauty exhibitions and were
Looking at machines to purchase. My friend really wants us to invest in a Biotec Italia machine which will
Set us back around 17K…whereas I think we should look at smaller more affordable machines to begin with. She said it wont set us apart from the competition if we do that…but I am just afraid of being stuck in huge debt right from the offset as we would need to take a loan out to cover it.
What are your thoughts? What’s the best advice for a start up? Start off small or go in big? Any advice would be greatly appreciated….thanks!!!!

Do you have any beauty qualifications yet?

The question above is valid to find out if you aren't putting the cart in front of the horse at this stage.

I'm not familiar with this device, but looking at their website it could be a HIFU or laser device?

If it's a laser, 17k is on the affordable side from what I've seen and heard. A very popular laser clinic owner in my town told me her device was the price of a car (40k-70k...I'm guessing). If you're looking for advice on HIFU or laser devices, maybe start a thread asking this question?

From budget, it sounds as if you would struggle to compete with a more built out aesthetics clinic, these clinics usually have a full menu of advanced service offerings, from injectables, radio frequency, HIFU, chemical peels, IPL/laser, threading, etc. There is little point in trying to build up to compete as we are talking easily over £100,000-£125,000 to get something like that even moving in today's money.