New client cancelled last minute

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

user 132536

Reaction score
I’m new to mobile nails and am building up a clientele. However, last night I had a new client message me 3 hours before her appointment asking me to urgently ring her.
She was in tears saying she’d lost her purse and would have to cancel. I told her not to worry and I hope she got sorted . Then, she messaged me late last night to say she hadn’t found it and how sorry she was for cancelling and she was really looking forward to the appointment. I told her again not to worry but get in touch when she wanted to re-book. She then asked for an appointment same time and date but in 2 weeks time as I’m on holiday next week. Booked her in for that, only for her to message me again this morning to see if I can go to her at 8:30 tonight.
What would advise . Politely say I’m fully booked or give her the appointment tonight?

Do you have a cancellation fee in place?

You must nip these situations/ clients very nicely in the bud. After all it’s a business your running, no a hobby. By having a cancellation fee in place printed on web page, appointment card and price list. Charge 10% of treatment booked if 24hr cancellation time not given, like dentists etc do. I would go and make sure she has found her purse beforehand and double check the appointment for 2 weeks time, reminding her of your cancellation rules and next time she will be charged (no matter the circumstances). I send a appointment text reminders about 3 days before appointment. Do you have the facility to take a deposit over the phone. Best of look.

Last edited:
No, not as of yet. This is my second week mobile but I do ask clients to let me know 48hours before if they can’t make the appointment. She was aware of this but not able to honour it as she had just lost her purse!