New Tech who could do with some help

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MichelleMicMac

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I am sooooo glad to have found Salon Geek, now I don't feel so alone :confused:

I am a fairly new nail Tech and I keep seeing a lot of acronyms / 'buzz' words & tech talk that I don't understand.

The ones I am struggling with right now are TIO and the difference between Hard Gel and 'normal' Gel. Each time I read something I seem to find some terminology that I don't understand. I am sure I will get used to it but at the moment it feels like I am having to learn a whole new language too !!

Any help offered will be very gratefully received. Thank you.

Hi Michelle. I've found this site to be a wealth of information too - welcome to the site!

I can definitely tell you that TIO stands for Top It Off which is used as the final coat in Nail Harmony's Gelish system so that's one query out of the way.

I stand corrected if I'm wrong here as I haven't worked with hard gels before but I think they are generally used for tips and sculptures and not so much on natural nails unless a client likes to have their nails quite long or just can't get on with the likes of Gelish. I also don't think the hard gels soak off and have to be filed off but like I said, I'm sure someone will correct me here if I'm wrong.

x

Hi Everyone,
The ones I am struggling with right now are TIO and the difference between Hard Gel and 'normal' Gel. Each time I read something I seem to find some terminology that I don't understand. I am sure I will get used to it but at the moment it feels like I am having to learn a whole new language too !!
HI Michelle,

welcome to geekdom... firstly, to help us direct our answers, could you please add more detail to your profile - what product/services you use/offer and also what training you have done..