New York - must do's??

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cabinkel

Reaction score
Hi geeks, I am off to New York soon, and as its my first time there i was hoping for any tips or "must do's" while I am there?
we are mainly going to shop, but want to do sightseeing too. Anyone have any great resturants/bars, sights ect?
xx

The Rockafella Centre ... Top of the Rock.

It is much better them going up the Empire State. No fences, you get to see all of Central Park, Empire State etc.

It you want a 5* Spa Experience the Mandarin Oriental Spa is amazing ... But expensive.

Two great restaurants worth checking out are Cowgirl and Fatty Crap.

When you're in a bar tip the bar staff! Just leave a dollar or two on the bar as you order each round. They will look after you then and the cocktails / drinks will get stronger and better.

You need to tip at least 10% in restaurants ... Usually 15%, more if it's been really good.

Bloomingdales one if my fave stores to shop in. Also check out Crate & Barrel. If you like cooking look for William Sanoma.

Central Park is also worth wandering around ... Huge and beautiful.

The New York Metro / Underground is excellent, and a great way to get around the city. Ask your hotel concierge about buying an MTA pass.

You have to buy coffee, pretzel or donuts of the street sellers in their carts. It's what the locals do and much cheaper then Starbucks!

Mat xx

Hi geeks, I am off to New York soon, and as its my first time there i was hoping for any tips or "must do's" while I am there?
we are mainly going to shop, but want to do sightseeing too. Anyone have any great resturants/bars, sights ect?
xx