Newly qualified going self employed ?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mdnaples

Reaction score
Hello Peeps!
I am finally a qualified Nail Tech and just waiting on my license for the State of Florida :) I passed all my tests with the lowest score being 97% pass and the state test i got 99% pass score so I'm happy to say i made it :)

Being qualified doesn't mean I'm an expert by all means but i love nails and always looking for new trends :) I try keep up with what's out there and what i can offer clients :)
I am confident with Manicure , Pedicure, Gelish, Rockstar, Crystal Pedicures and Dashing Diva ....My french needs working on more but i use dashing diva and love it :) I also am not so great at acrylics, i think im ok but not the best...i am still mastering that. I have no probs with applying tips and gel nail application it's easier than acrylic but i want to be good at both.

Anyways.... I have the opportunity to go self employed in a nice nail salon where i live and ofcourse i will offer all the above but not acrylics just yet ..... Do you guys think its ok to start off offering the services above and not acrylics ?

I am more into promoting natural nail applications but there are ladies that love thier tips whether that be with gel or acrylic. I feel i need more training on acrylics like i say so to not offer this service at the moment won't be a prob .....whats your thoughts ?

Is there anyone here from Florida that know whats required for being self employed in a nail salon as in documents i need in place before i can start work?
I know i need Insurance ( Public Liability) Register my Biz and FL license.

All help appreciated :)

Michelle