No patch test for lash lift?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DyeMyHair

Reaction score
Hello!
I'm new to lashes and lash lifts and I'm just wondering is it common for lash techs NOT to do patch tests?

Its something I wouldn't dream of, and from what I've been taught and what I've found.. insurance would only cover me if I do them?

The reason why I'm asking is for 2 reasons ... 1 being because people act like coming out of their way to see me 2 days prior to treatment is asking too much. And 2.. a recent client who had lash lifts done previously at a really well known salon (in my local area that is) was shocked for me wanting to do a patch test, she said she had never had one done before!

Does anyone know why this is? Is there a product out there that doesn't need to be tested? I just feel a little disheartened - I'm worried this is going to put people off. I know the clients who won't come for a patch test aren't really worth having anyway... but is this common? Is it something I'm just going to have to get used to?

People will take what they can get and pray on people that don’t have the guts to say no that’s not safe. Courses years ago didn’t really prioritise it as they do now, even one I went on 8 years ago said it was ok to do 10mins before.

When I was young and stupid and felt intimidated by a woman in my own home I was scared of her, scared of saying no. Some of us have to learn from experience unfortunately. These people know exactly what they are doing, and will take you for all you’ve got.

Anyone who is happy to not have a patch test is either in need of educating or in need of sending away. This is great, it means this person has finally found a tech that cares about her safety! Otherwise, their loss.