Office rant!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

laurajayne_u

Reaction score
Morning ladies!!

I just need to get this off my chest.. Hope you don't mind!

I've been working for a company for the past 10 months as office administrator, and it's been a running joke that I don't make enough tea or coffee.. Bearing in mind I don't drink brews myself! Yesterday we had a meeting and the boss brought up that the sound of heels in the office irritates him and he doesn't want us to wear them anymore! There's only me and 1 other girl in here and she wears heels everyday so she was not happy!! This got the ball rolling for yet more petty issues to bring up..

He then went on to the tea and coffee situation and told me I need to start making him a cup of tea as soon as he walks through the door as he is my director and I do as he says! I couldn't believe my ears! I said I can't just drop what I'm doing if I'm busy to make you a brew as soon as you walk in the door! He told me that I was brought in to "service the office". WHAT THE HELL DOES THAT MEAN?! Do I just do ANYTHING he says? I find it so disrespectful it's like he's living in the 1950's and women still belong in the kitchen! Anyone is capable of putting the kettle on.. I made him a cup of tea half an hour before the meeting and when I mentioned it he told me I hadn't made one, that I was an "office junior who thinks can rule the roost" and said that this situation was going to end up going further than it needed to.. Is he going to sack me over tea and coffee?!