Oily nails & Gellux

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SMT2023

Reaction score
Hi everyone.
I’m a newly qualified nail tech, have been doing my own gels and painting for some years but taken the plunge to go professional!
I have done a couple of clients and after 3/4 dayson a couple fingers mostly thumbs, they have a couple of chips & one has lifting…. The two clients in question one has a newborn so I would assume baby wipes have an effect on this as I remember this myself when I had my baby… the other is an osteo so is using a small amount of oil whilst she helps her clients.

I am using gellux and use the fast bond but wonder if anyone can offer any advice for longevity?
Thankyou so much ❤️

Are you using a matched system? Ie. Are you using the recommended lamp for the gel polish? Incorrect cure will cause product breakdown. Thumbs can be notoriously tricky, Are they positioned correctly in the lamp? Do they need curing separately? Oils shouldn't cause lifting, we generally encourage clients to use cuticle oil as part of home maintenance.

The newborn thing could be a red- herring- yes it could be wipes, sudocreme, etc. but it could equally be the change in hormones post partem.

Are you using a matched system? Ie. Are you using the recommended lamp for the gel polish? Incorrect cure will cause product breakdown. Thumbs can be notoriously tricky, Are they positioned correctly in the lamp? Do they need curing separately? Oils shouldn't cause lifting, we generally encourage clients to use cuticle oil as part of home maintenance.

The newborn thing could be a red- herring- yes it could be wipes, sudocreme, etc. but it could equally be the change in hormones post partem.