Oily nails?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bravegirl

Reaction score
so before i left my training today, i was told to go home and research what would you do if a client came in with oily nails, my answer is to do extra prep work with the buffing shine off and use a few extra brushes of bondaid (we use opi there) am i right or is there more to what i should be focusing on?

And possibly a nail dehydrater?xx

Prep work is key. Not seen oily nails myself in 7 years but my guess for your course would be the normal.
You would buff off the shine, and use a dehydrater to take surface oil off the nail xx

I have been a nail technician for 10 years and I have never had a client with "oily nails", only clients telling me that their last tech had told them they had "oily nails" and that's why their enhancements didn't last. Good prep from me apparently cured their "oily nails":lol:

Nails do not have the necessary equipment to produce oil on their own. I think the symptom is a myth.

There is no such thing as oily nails as nails do not have sebaceous glands.

It makes me laugh hearing the term oily nails, normally comes along side " you need to let your nails breathe"... Hmmm didn't realise my nails sweat and breathe. Clever little things :D

i guess it was a trick question then thanks :)

They possibly mean from hand cream, daily dirt and grime etc , so I de say extra prep ,possible dehydrator (depending on which system your using) and getting clients to wash and thoroughly dry hands hth x

I think the term "oily nails" has been taken to literally both from techs and clients.
The term puts images in minds that the nails themselves are producing oil, hence oily nails but as already stated, the nail can not product oil as it has no sebaceous glands.