Opening my home beauty salon

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nicki83

Reaction score
Hi,

I've had my own small beauty salon built in my back garden as I have an alley inbetween my house and the house next door so it hopefully will work well.

I'm a fully trained beauty therapist and currently finishing up as a level 3 nail tech as well. The building should be ready in the next 3 weeks, im just finishing my website (I used to work in I.T) and then im ready to go.

My question is how much should I expect to own in the first 6 months, 12 months. I will advertise through social media, my website, business cards, some posters in windows and hopefully word of mouth.

I'll be offering gelish nails, fibreglass extensions, acrylic extensions, all waxing, lash lift, tinting, manicures, pedicures, facials, spray tanning and then will add lash extensions and massage which fully trained in that too.

I'll probably work around 25-30 hours a week.

Apologies if this has been asked a million times in just feeling a bit nervous.

It's really 'how long is a bit of string' as every area is different. Did you carry out any market research prior, to see if there was a calling for your services in your area?

I think most people struggle due to the market being saturated.
You should expect to turn a profit in 6-12 months if all things are going well.

Have you allocated a decent size marketing budget? We are a web design company so if you want a free review of your website when done, just drop me a message and I can give you some feedback to implement if you'd like.

It will take time to build your client base even with the best marketing in place.
You will find that for the first couple of years you will have busy weeks and dead weeks so the key is to plan your finances for this.
For the first six months you may only have clients in on average for say ten hours a week.