Opening my own nail salon

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pinkmolly226

Reaction score
Hey everyone!
I’m looking for some advice or tips on opening a nail bar.
I’ve been a nail tech for 17 years, self employed and renting stations from others for about 8.
I’ve decided in the next 2 years I’d like to have my own nail salon.
Does anyone who has done this have any advice/tips they could pass on?
There are so many beauty salons about but not so many nail bars (not counting the ‘American style’ nail bars)
I have a very good client base, I’m fully booked most weeks.
I’m thinking of having a beauty room to rent out and maybe a backwash/hair styling station.
My problem is I’m not good at advertising and promoting myself!
I use Facebook and Instagram just now, any tips on promoting a salon?
I would like to employ 1 or 2 other qualified nail technicians too.
Pretty nervous about it as I’m very within my comfort zone sitting a my Wee nail bar but need to move up! I don’t know where to start with a business plan and am awful with technology so don’t know how to start a website.
I have 2 years to prepare for this. Help!

Sounds like a really good idea, but then you will go into premises/units, paying staff etc is it really worth all that hassle. I know its desirable to have your own business, but it is a really expensive cost, and you are fully booked.. will you have time to be fully booked with your big client base and time to run a nail salon/hair/beauty?