OPI GelColour - LED vs UV lamp?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

*Jess*

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

My apologies if there is already a thread on this - I did do a search, but it didn't turn up any results I was looking for.

I read on the OPI pro website that using their new LED lamp cures the nails in 4 minutes per set, versus 12 minutes plus for standard UV cure.

I have been reading a few threads today about not intermixing systems, and using the correct lamps, etc and was just wondering, does this mean you can use the UV lamp to cure GelColour, but it will just take longer? Or do you HAVE to use the LED lamp? I have never tried the GelColour before, but am looking at introducing it in my salon.

Any feedback would be much appreciated :)

Yes, Gelcolor will cure in UV lamp: base 1 min, color 2 min, top 3 min.

Personally I see no reason to invest in LED lamp - first I still need to apply product and it takes me more than 30 seconds per hand (I do lots of dark colors on reall short nails), second - I will give some time to producers to figure out better that whole LED-topic. Having lamp for each system is out of question, currently I use five different and can't imagine dragging 5 lamps with me :).

Ah - I use Brisa Lamp, not OPI lamp, works for Shellac (of course) Opi Gelish Orly ACG.
HTH

I was fortunate to try my friends GelColor with my CND Shellac lamp before I purchased the full kit & I have to say it worked fine, following the correct instructions etc, but I loved the look of the LED lamp so I plumped for the kit which incorporated it. I love it!!

Thankyou for the feedback. I might get the intro kit and just use the UV lamp to start with and see how that goes. I can always buy the LED lamp later I guess!