Opportunity Knocks...Or does it.....??

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

champagne

Reaction score
Hi Geeks......this is a difficult one ...

Now I cant say too much but....

Would you be happy to promote/demo professional beauty products to the general untrained public on live TV?

To include Gel Nails, Stick on Temporary Nails & other beauty products.....

I would be promoting these products on behalf of a large established UK based company......

This would be a great opportunity for me & may lead on to other things.

I am not asking for you to make a decision for me, I would just like to hear your views.

I have paid good money for excellent training, I feel able to promote and demo these products. Whether the general public could actually do it themselves is a different matter, im guessing very few would be able to do it.

As a nail tech I would probably watch something like this on TV and think omg whatever next...& would be thinking of damaged nails etc etc...

As a member of the public I would watch it and think wow, I could do my own nails....I will buy some of that...

Business is business & money pays the bills......but is there a big moral question mark here??

Should my personal views come into this?

Have any of you been in a similar situtation, if so, any advice.

I think your personal views should come in to whatever you decide because you have to be comfortable with what you do.

I hope you reach the right decision best for you xx

What I would be very wary of is that you are not given the chance to do it your way, and they ask you to do things in a certain way as it 'films' better or 'fits into the time slot' quicker.

I always remember watching the first THE SALON. The Irish salon manager kept on and on about how things should be done and everyone ignored her as it 'didn't make good TV', in the end she sort of gave up.