Pamper event

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Missmel

Reaction score
Hello fellow geeks,

I haven't posted on here for a little while but am needing a bit of advice about a forthcoming pamper event on Thursday eve. Having recently moved to a different area, I am practically having to start my business from scratch so naturally I thought that taking part in the paper eve would be a great way of drumming up new business.

I have been asked to do mini-facials and eyebrow shapes which I was hoping would be fairly straight forward, however the issue is that when I phoned Dermalogica for some advice on the event in the hope that they would be supportive of my circumstances they weren't very supportive at all.

I have been using Dermalogica products for the past ten years and I remember thinking how supportive they were when I first started out but over the past few years, along with the massive price increases, I really feel that their policies and terms have become so rigid that I will have to look elsewhere for a brand that is able to support a smaller business.

Although I am entitled to hold marketing events/pamper eves etc, apparently these events are only allowed to take place at my existing salon but my salon is far too small to support this kind of event! This to me seems ridiculous as I am doing as I always have done which is promoting the Dermalogica brand but just at a bigger venue which is basically like setting up a mobile skin bar.

I was told that mobile treatments won't be supported either and according to Dermalogica, never have been, so I now have no idea where to go with my business as I am still operating out of my existing salon but cannot afford to open up a second new salon in the new area until I have built up enough business.