Permanently wavy

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

becki x

Reaction score
I don't do much hair anymore so for that reason i have been trying to talk my sil out of having a perm :rolleyes:

She has coarse,dense mid length hair,with plenty of long layers.

She is after the toussled beach look,but my perms have been limited (through choice) so i was wondering if you could give me some advice.

If and only if i decided to go ahead,are there are new rods or perming rollers out there to achieve this look ?

Would you just go for a brick winde on the largest rods,with a soft wave perm ?

Do you recommend a brand specifically for this type of perm ?

This is a fairly new style so i have had no experience in this sort of perm (i admit i am a little chicken about doing it ) so any advice is gratefully received .

Many thanks and i look forward to the replies. x

Its been a long while for me aswell in terms of doing a perm but Id be tempted to use the largest perm rods you can get and to use a soft acid perm. Hopefully acheiving a softer curl with the density of her hair. not too sure about a brick wind, i never really did those too much just the standard wind or a spiral was mostly called on when i was working more, was a few years back though! I hope others can help a little more.

I know I'm not a hairy geek but the guy on Ten Years Younger used these new perm cones where they are wider at one end than the other and he said they give a far more natural look ... and it did!

I've not seen them but i kinda thought there would be something like that Sass x

Some recomendations of tried and tested ones would be great x

Im not a hair pro, but my friend wanted the 'beach' look aswell, I went with her to the hairdressers and they used the cone shaped rods. The effect is fab, really natural looking!

I cant comment on anything technical though! hth's a bit!! xx