Personality and confidence. Important?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kim Lawless

Grande Dame of the Brazilian Wax for Men and Women
Reaction score
How important do you think these are?

I had a full head of highlights recently and the stylist did an amazing job. However, the whole time she looked nervous and when I said how pleased I was with the results, she kept asking if I was sure. She's been at the same salon for 6 years so it wasn't newbie nerves and all of the girls were lovely to each other.

I never mention that I'm a therapist and I'm always friendly and chatty (and I tip well), but aside from being very sweet and lovely, she had nothing to say during the three hours that I was in there.

I think that personality and confidence go hand in hand with being a success in the hair and beauty world. What say you?

Confidence is very important without it the client may find it hard to trust you and your judgement ive learnt that not only am i selling products and services im also selling my self to a certain extent so i always try act confident even when im not and think as in talking to the client i always chit chat away if that what the client wants you get the odd few who want to relax without talking x

Sent from my GT-I9100 using SalonGeekc

It definitely sounds like she had low self esteem doesn't she?

I do think you are right, I have had my hair done before from a stylist who hardly uttered two words and it is boring! I know not everyone wants to chat but you just think they have nothing interesting to say. I do think you need to be chatty and be able to strike up conversations with people about anything. But usually the old, what are you upto today? What is it you work as? Usually gives you a platform to start talking about other things going by their reply.