Pinching - why?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

'chelle

Reaction score
Hi,

I've been a nail tech for 8 years. All my training was/is with CND, so I've had a good solid foundation to my career in nails.

I was never taught to pinch a nail, and when I came across pinching and asked my educator about it she said that it's purely for appearance and is a method thats used in competition work. She said it has no real place in the salon, and that it can put stress on the natural nail so isnt adviseable on a practical level.

I've gone with that advice and never learned how to pinch. However, recently I've watched a couple of online tutorials that suggest pinching, and I saw someones advice on how to improve their technique that also suggested pinching.

I dont intend to start doing it myself, but I would be interested to know if there are any other reasons why people think that pinching is preferable

It's not something I do myself. However I've also seen it on a few tutorials. And it seems to be a trend with a particular brand to achieve a perfect shape.

I use the pinching technique along with c curve sticks. It helps the nails to look more natural and not 'flat' like a lot of extensions do. I've never had any problems with it damaging the clients own nails.

I was taught it for sculpting, esp square/stiletto/competition nails, but since i only do tips, then i don't do it.

In my view it is a competition trick, and puts unnecessary extra stress on the nail.... It also feels quite uncomfortable.
J

I got taught about pinching but got warned it can lead to oncholysis ( I think), it was more of a competition technique according to my tutor.

there are a few other things around to create a lovely C curve ,

Have you seen the CND dowles in the Brisa lite sculpting video on you tube ?
they look fabby for the C curve , I want to try them,