Please help! Lip waxing people who wear ppe/face masks

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nicbeauty

Reaction score
Hi, I hope I’m in the right place, I am new here!
Basically I have been a beauty therapist and waxing for 16years now, bit this year has really knocked my confidence, when waxing brows I’m getting the “skin graze” on some people’s brows and today a client came in for her regular appointment (client with years) to get her brows done, only to show me her lip (which was waxed 3weeks ago) it looked like it was healing after a burn 😳 it has never happened before!! She also had her brows done the same day and they were perfectly fine, she said the evening after the lip wax, her lip felt hot and then it scabbed over???
She was fine about it because as I said it has never happened before, but I’m not happy about it obviously, I have been using satin smooth pearl wax since I started, I’ve never changed brand, the wax pot is always on the same temp and I always test it on my hand before waxing, I’m really at a loss to what it could be from?? I chatted to another beauty therapist who said it’s started to happen to her too this year and she reckons it’s from people wearing face masks in public etc, making the skin moist, or if they have dirty masks?? Any one else having this problem??

This was her lip today

Attachments

• 5744FF35-1C30-4D94-9D4F-F6B08F9DF0C9.jpeg
    5744FF35-1C30-4D94-9D4F-F6B08F9DF0C9.jpeg
    746.7 KB · Views: 66
It does look awful particularly after 3 weeks. All I can say is thank goodness for our masks to hide it, but it is the reason for the issue as well.
I have noticed a change to my regular lip wax clients. I haven't grazed anyone , but there is a definite change in the way the strip wants to pull more as it's being done.