Possible recurrence of infection? Have I done the right thing?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Carly@Manic

Reaction score
Hello lovely geeks,

I am still relatively new to the Industry having qualified in June and my business has been going since Aug/Sept time. I’m mobile at the moment, and I really could do with some colleagues to confer with! I’m after a little bit of advice about an elderly client of mine that I saw for the third time today.

I initially saw her just for a consultation as she had explained on the phone that she had been to the “local discount salon” for regular L&P over a period of months and on removal all 10 nails were very dark coloured, cracked, split, wafer-thin, misshapen – the lot. The removal was around 4-5 months ago now, on my clients insistence, the previous tech told her it was all ok under the nail but my client was fairly sure the enhancement was loose and water, etc, getting in. She was obviously concerned and saw her doctor about the infection. She has had everything thrown at her; a variety of topical fungal treatments as well as swabs taken and a course of anti-biotics from her GP, and she regularly applies almond oil and tea-tree oil.

When I looked at her nails (see pic below), I felt that the discolouration appeared to be fading and that the nail growth looked quite healthy. I felt that there was no active infection due to the appearance and variety of treatments she had been given. My client was deeply distressed at the state of her nails and really wanted to have Shellac put on to hide it. Based on everything above, I decided to put silk overlays onto the nail for a bit of strength as they were so delicate down at the free edge and Shellaced over the top.