Primary Teaching in Scotland

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

l.a.m.x

Reaction score
Hi all,

Hoping some of you can give me some advice here please. I am having a massive career change at the moment so will keep this brief.

I graduated from uni last year and landed what I thought would be my dream job in a hotel (beauty business out with). I was wrong and 6 months later I am working my notice. The hours were not what I thought and I can count on one hand the beauty treatments I have done in the last 6 months.

Anyway, I am now considering going into primary teaching, however this would involve going back to college for a year and gaining Maths in the hope I could get into uni the following year.

My question is am I mad?! I know its what I want, but I feel like I am taking a huge risk having already been at uni, now I am thinking about returning! What if I can't manage maths, don't get in, can't get a job?! I now I am only 22 (only, hehe), but this career change has put my mortgage plans on hold :rolleyes:

My biggest question is does anyone know anyone who has done this (particularly Scotland) and what have their experiences been like?

Any thoughts appreciated :D

xx

Go for it!
Life's too short for regrets and what ifs!
Better to have given it a go than to dream about it!

You can do highers at college in the evening if you still need to earn a living while you study. Check the uni requirements and make contact with the course tutors before you even apply - they'll tell you whether just doing the highers you need are enough to get in or if you need to do some voluntary work to secure your place.