Problems with soft wax

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Han1608

Reaction score
Hi all, I am new to waxing and can’t quite seem to figure out how to use my waxing stuff at home. I learnt in a salon and the wax was heated up and ready to go for me and I waxed a few people absolutely fine. Now I have bought my own wax pot (s-pro starter kit) and I can’t figure out the correct wax consistency. When I apply the wax and then the strip , it leaves a sticky residue and peels off really stickily leaving the hairs behind. My wax pot doesn’t have a degrees setting on it , it is only numbered 1-10 so I’m not sure what temp my wax would be at either. I have tried all settings but the wax is either to runny to the point it pours off my stick or too thick and neither ways it seems to successfully remove hair.

Where did you do your training ?
Wax should be like runny honey. I had an S Pro heater and it was no where near as good as Hive. I think it was around the 5 or 6 setting that worked for me. If you trainer was half decent you'd have been shown to test on your own inside wrist for the correct working temperature. Nudge the control up or down and it should get to your favoured consistency.
Have you prepared the skin following your product training guidelines? I do a surgical spirit pre-cleanse followed by talc to really really dry the skin. Especially in this hot weather.
Press the strip down hard and rub it to adhere a few times.
Fast rip and there really shouldn't be much left on the skin at all.
It's been very hot and that can affect the wax so that there could be more sticky residue.
Apart from all the above , maybe a bit more practise is needed for you to feel competent. HTH