Proffessional hair product advice bieng given to non proffessionals

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

minky

Reaction score
Hi as a professional hairdresser I have noticed that some professional hairdressers are recommending professional products to people who are not Hairdressers I thought we were not supposed to do this

I know that if you are new and not too sure of the rules newbies can make mistakes and we a should all be patient with newbies who do not know the rules ,
but when I was a newbie and never knew the rules I was told I could not do this,
Plus I was told straight away,

( Take a look at the old post Pink hair )

When I first Joined this site I thought everyone was a professional hairdresser or learning to be a hairdresser or a nail tech,
Which I now know is not true ,

I have also noticed OTC (over the counter ) products being reccomended ,
which personally I think is fine If both people are not hairdressers and they both know they are not professional hairdressers,
but again this may also be breaking the salon geeks rules

I am just posting this as I think new geeks should be aware of the rules that apply on here and take a peek at them before posting ,
regards minky :hug:

Minky you are correct in your thinking and this should apply to ALL the forums! Pro advice should be given as you would from one Pro to another if everyone is trained. OR reply as you would from a pro to a client if the poster isn't trained at all. That's why you don't catch me on the hair forum very often, cos I don't have a clue!

I agree, I would never recommend OTC products to clients so why anyone else? I also do notice a few non-hairdressers giving advice :eek:

Not all professional products suit every person and should only be recommended by a professional, we train hard and long in this profession to understand the science of it all.

Good point minky!