Pushing back sensitive cuticles

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ilovevanity

Reaction score
Hey!
I’m a newbie so be gentle haha! I’m currently a nail tech in training. I decided to give my mum a manicure for practice and she’s over 60. She has a thyroid condition so obviously takes medication for it. She NEVER uses cuticle oil or moisturises her hands, despite them being dry all the time (I’ve told her and told her lol, she just forgets!). I went to push back her cuticles and I swear, I was being so gentle, because she had previously had sore cuticles when I’d done it before. I couldn’t even actually push anything back! She said it was “sensitive”. She had visible non-living material stuck to the nail plate but even using literally no pressure (I admit, I was testing to see if she was being dramatic haha. I took off all pressure and just lightly stroked the tool over). Sure enough it was tender and her cuticles were actually a bit red!

Now I’m worried it’s not uncommon, and when I eventually qualify, I’ll be dealing with occasional clients like that - and I’m not sure how to go ahead without hurting anyone lol.

Does anyone have any suggestions? Thank you!

As long as you have checked all the contra indications and you are ok to proceed I would suggest doing a traditional manicure unless you are doing a gel nail service.
Your mum could have a very thin nail plate (like me) and it can be very tender. So I am not keen on metal pushers, but it can be done by being very gentle, and having a 10-15 degree angle on the pusher if that makes sense. No cuticle should be sore after what you have done. So technique needs looking into.