Really need some IBD Builder Gel advice

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

guitargirl

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm not a pro nail tech so please forgive any ignorant questions. I have to DIY because I'm a musician and put my nails through hell in the course of playing. Repairs need to be done quickly to prevent further damage so using the services of a pro tech isn't really practical for me. I've done my best to research the best product for my situation but am having a few problems with it, and I'm hoping one of you folks might have a suggestion or two for things I might try.

I started investigating NNO's because standard polishes and top coats weren't doing a thing to help with splits, cracks and peeling. I was temped to try acrylic but heard too many bad things about them from other musicians, nail bed damage etc.. After a lot of deliberation and discussion I decided to try the IBD Builder line. For the past month I've just been keeping it simple with Clear Builder Gel because my nails were so short anyway. I've spoken to people who tried both the soak off and the regular UV Clear Gel and neither seem to be strong enough to hold up for this application.

I quickly discovered that I had to apply it very thick at the stress point because with the slightest flex the gel would crack. That proved frustrating because if I didn't file the crack all the way down to the nail plate, the crack would show through and actually look worse when I re-gelled it, as if the clear topcoat was acting like a magnifying glass.

So my latest attempt at this has been something like this.
1. Followed standard prep steps, pushed back cuticle and made sure that all of the film was removed. Very lightly sanded to remove just the nail shine. Cleaned with alcohol using lint free wipes.
2. Applied thin coat of IBD Bonder and wiped well using a clean wipe
3. Cured that under 45 watt UV for 1 min