Renting space

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

debdobson6

Reaction score
Hi everyone I am looking for some advice?
I have been renting a Beauty room within a hair dressers for nearly 6 years! She has just informed me of a rent increase does this happen? I thought it was just a flat rate I think it’s a huge jump nearly £100 a month more, it’s a tiny little room and no nail bar in salon. Is this a usal thing?

It can be. Depends on your contract with the salon but generally speaking they can charge what they want and up the rent with sufficient notice.

If you haven’t had a rent increase in 6 years, depending on the amount you’ve been paying I’d say you were very lucky.
Have you checked around for comparable rents?

A big increase might be away of getting rid of you, tbh no increase in 6 years is good. She might have just signed a new contract with the landlord and they have increase her rent so she's passed it on.
It's £5 a day, is it worth moving for that, a £1 increase on your services would easily cover it

Are you kidding.....
You've not had an increase in 6 YEARS....:oops:
And just £5.00 a day...o_O
I'd smile graciously, pay up....you think yourself a very lucky lady:cool:

I know what you mean but it’s a lot a month for a tiny little room most people in my area are £150 less so I don’t think I can justify it, if space was bigger the facility were better I would consider it but I think I am getting ripped off now

I know what you mean but it’s a lot a month for a tiny little room most people in my area are £150 less so I don’t think I can justify it, if space was bigger the facility were better I would consider it but I think I am getting ripped off now
What's your total rent per month before and after the increase?

£140 a month increase

You will have to weigh up what you will lose and gain if you move.