Returning after very long break

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sugarwalls

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

This is my first post ever on SG. I'm hoping for a little training advice. Over 20 years ago I trained as a nail tech. I loved working on nails on and my clients were loyal and happy. I did it mobile quite successfully, but only for a couple of years before I got side-tracked - I did a fine art degree, then had an office based career before having a family. I'm now a single parent, and after a long hard look at my situation and where to go from here I have decided I want to re-train and work as a nail tech again.

I've been googling what's going on in nails these days and what training's available, and have to admit to being a bit bewildered! It is important I do a course which will give me the best training available. I can't go back to college for months on end, but am ready to supplement salon/classroom training with working at home. I've only used acrylic tips as extensions but I want to learn about gels and gel sculpting, shellac, how to create amazing, robust white tips with gel. (Do people still want airbrushing?) I also need to know my clients' nails won't be damaged. I guess the same as you guys!

As it looks as though gel is the new way forward in extensions? I have been looking at the Bio Sculpture course because I like their nail health ideology and also that the gels can be soaked off. I was also looking at CND because I like their art nails and marketing, but I hear they're discontinuing the soak off sculpting gel (Brisa).

I wanted to offer a soak-off system because I think it must be better for the nail bed, and it's something the client can do at home if she wishes. What do you think?

Or is soak-off not so important?