Rights as self employed taking a holiday

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BethanFrancesca

Beauty1988
Reaction score
Hi,

I have been working at my salon for just over 2 years on a self employed basis where I give the salon owner a % of my earnings. I give her 20% for semi permanent makeup and mesotherapy because I pay for all my equipment and products, but for waxing, lash lifts and brow treatments I give her 50% because she buys the products.

During my time there I have heard from her and the staff that she charges the staff for taking holidays, originally she charged them £20 a day. So far she's never charged me for a holiday and I assumed that it was because I wasn't full time and didn't have a set station like the nail girls do as I just use whatever treatment room is available. But recently she has been charging all the girls for taking holidays, even including the receptionist who she pays £50 a day and then a % over £100 takings, but also the new beauty therapist who is on the same deal as me.

I am now worried she's going to charge me for my holidays as she seems to be doing it across the board now. She's now charging £16 a day for holidays.

All of us, except the receptionist who is paid £50 a day, are self employed and none of us have contracts with her at all.

I'm sure she can't charge us for not being there when we are self employed?? We can choose when we work, that's the whole point of being self employed! It's not like I even pay a daily or weekly rent... And I have no contract anyway!

At the end of the day we are choosing not to work and lose out on income for the time we are on holiday, surely it's not legal for me to then be charged by her?

I know it's just because she'll be losing potential income too, but if she was worried about that she could have chosen to employ staff rather than having self employed staff surely?