Rock Star Nails - Where am I going wrong?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mdnaples

Reaction score
I don't know what i do that i don't get the real glossy smooth shine with rockstar toes and fingers, where am i going wrong ?

This is what i did....
I removed cuticle and buffed nail then i cleansed it to remove dust. I dehydrated, applied gelish structure , cured then added glitter, tidied up edges then cured again then added gelish top coat and cured for like 3 mins but still they feel rough and not too glossy :( Help am i doing something wrong. I feel i am doing a lot more work and not getting the correct results. I am new to this but not happy with how it turns out :(
I have to be doing something wrong !

please help !

Michelle

Normally when I do glitter nails or toes this is how I apply:

Thin coat Clear gel (bio sculpture)
Cure 2min
thin coat Clear or color gel (bio sculpture)
Sprinkle glitter
Tap off excess
Cure 2-3min (depending or light or dark glitter)
Brush off extra glitter with a stiff brush
Clear gel (bio sculpture)
Cure 2 min
Top coat gel (Gelish)

Maybe you need another layer in between the glitter and top coat to help cover the glitter completely so it's not rough. Brushing off the extra after curing also helps get loose glitter off that could potentially stick up and make the nail rough. Hth.

Check out the Nail Angel website, there's an excellent video on there which I used to help me! I use NSI for mine so this is exactly what I follow but it might still be useful :) Mine stay on as long as I want them there, I've had them on for 4 weeks and only took them off because I was bored of the colour :)

Do you have the web address for nail angel? X

My steps with gelish

Prepare the nails (cuticles /dehydrate)