Saying goodbye to clients

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NapalmFairy

Reaction score
I've been a nail tech for 12 years and, as much as I love doing it, I've decided to close my business at the end of the year and walk away from the beauty industry for awhile. I'm leaving mainly due to stress, feeling unappreciated, and feeling like a majority of my clientele are toxic personalities (#SmallTownProblems). It's a choice I've wrestled with for a couple of years so it's not a hasty decision. I haven't made the official announcement as I'm waiting till December 1 to tell my clients. Here's where my problem lies: there are a few of my clients I genuinely like. They've almost become more friends than clients and it's going to kill me to say goodbye to them. I know my decision to leave is the right one for me and I know they'll understand, but I have a soft heart and I'm just having trouble dealing with how to tell them. Any advice?

I've been a nail tech for 12 years and, as much as I love doing it, I've decided to close my business at the end of the year and walk away from the beauty industry for awhile. I'm leaving mainly due to stress, feeling unappreciated, and feeling like a majority of my clientele are toxic personalities (#SmallTownProblems). It's a choice I've wrestled with for a couple of years so it's not a hasty decision. I haven't made the official announcement as I'm waiting till December 1 to tell my clients. Here's where my problem lies: there are a few of my clients I genuinely like. They've almost become more friends than clients and it's going to kill me to say goodbye to them. I know my decision to leave is the right one for me and I know they'll understand, but I have a soft heart and I'm just having trouble dealing with how to tell them. Any advice?