Self employed mobile hairdresser/beautician and pregnant

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SimonaD93

Reaction score
Hi Ladies.

I need advice. I just found out I'm pregnant first time but haven't been to the doctor's yet as I only found out this morning and appointment waiting time is 3 weeks.
I work as a self employed mobile beauty therapist/hairdresser. I have to carry my beauty couch about to some clients but not all as for waxing and facials most clients are understanding enough to let me use their bed/sofa for them to lie down on. It's just few waxing and all massage clients who get me to carry the couch to them. It's heavy as it is so I try to avoid carrying it about if I can avoid it.
Now what treatments/services would I have to cut/reduce amount of during pregnancy? What precautions would I have to take? I've tried to attach my treatment list to this but the program won't let me so if you go on Google and search for Lotus Divine Beauty in Oxford I should come up either on Facebook or Treatwell as it's too many things to list on here (to round it up I offer facials, waxing, massages, eyebrow & lash tinting, gel polish, manicure & pedicure, hair cuts but full list is on Facebook/Treatwell). I'm also starting to offer hair colour services and lash lifts.

Please only answer if you know/had been through this yourself and don't judge.

Congratulations on your pregnancy. :)

You’re self employed so it’s entirely up to you how to combine running your business with your growing bump. Unless you have extra risk factors, you can probably do most of your job until well into the third trimester but I certainly don’t recommend pushing yourself unnecessarily. Your midwife at your booking in appointment should be able to guide you and answer any pregnancy related questions you might have.