Self employment in hair salon with business support

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Successful24

Reaction score
Hi everyone

Recently ive been looking for work in a hair salon as a senior stylist i have 9 years experience and i am mainly looking at employment however, I recently came across an employer who is looking for self employment. Now normally I would turn it down straight the way as self employment scares me.

Here is a break down of how they would like the self employment to be ran within their business...

£32 rent a chair (a day)
30% commission
This includes the salon supplying the products, lights (etc) and training and apprentices
Support in building up clientele i.e leafleting, and social media posts
Business accountant contact details charging £120 a year
Clientele waiting (use to belong to graduate stylist) cut and blowdry starting from £22

Whats made me decide to post is because im thinking is this too good to be true?[emoji848] Or is this too good to be true [emoji849]... and what questions could i ask to dig a little deeper for information.

Pricing plays a huge part in self employment so I would “roughly” offer services such as a cut and blowdry starting from £35-£39
Colour £45-£55+ (depending on what it is) and an introduction offer for myself

Should i take the opportunity or run for the hills

Please help thank you in advance x

Hiya.

It does sound like it could be too good to be true, but you never know. If i was you I would try it out and see how it goes. By the way, what is the 30% comission on? Products?

Hiya.

It does sound like it could be too good to be true, but you never know. If i was you I would try it out and see how it goes. By the way, what is the 30% comission on? Products?

Hey riane,

30% commission on takings x