Self employment in salon

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Beautygirl11

Reaction score
Ive been working self employed on my own for 10 years but the opportunity to work in a salon a couple of days a week has come up and something I’m interested in doing.
I’ve said I’d need to be self employed to make it worth my while.
The owner has proposed £60 a day for a 7 hour day. Am I allowed to be paid in this way?
I was expecting a percentage split. She is going to provide the products.
Any advice on how best to approach this to make this beneficial for myself would be appreciated!

I think the owner means you pay her the £60.00 for a 7 hour day....and anything over that is yours.;)
Rents vary according to area/salon type/footfall etc.
£60.00 sounds a little steep, but if its in a high end salon in a good area, that could equate to the cost of one Cut & finish, so that would be about right :)

Yes she means £60 a day that you pay her for the chair. After speaking with the Nhf regarding chair rental the average is between £50 and £75 a day not the charge for one cut and finish. I would go out of business if I was to charge one cut and blow dry price as a daily fee and I’m in a boutique salon running from my garden. My salon still costs £200 a week to run and then you still need to make a profit or what’s the point in chair renting. Xxxxx

Yes she means £60 a day that you pay her for the chair. After speaking with the Nhf regarding chair rental the average is between £50 and £75 a day not the charge for one cut and finish. I would go out of business if I was to charge one cut and blow dry price as a daily fee and I’m in a boutique salon running from my garden. My salon still costs £200 a week to run and then you still need to make a profit or what’s the point in chair renting. Xxxxx

That's interesting...thanks for that.:)