Setting up on my own-Advice please :-)

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ballyboo

Reaction score
Hi everyone, it's my first time on here so be nice! lol

I am considering going mobile as i have a quite big client base, but i'm not familiar with how this works. I have tried looking on the net at setting up your own business but i can't seem to find any relevant info.

Would I need a business plan/lots of cash to set up??

See i'm useless lol

Also, my prices at my current salon are very high for this part of the country and i'm not sure how to structure my pricelist. I do a few clients at home already and they don't seem to think of paying me as much as what they paty at the salon, usually i get a cuppa and a tenna! Obviously i couldn't make a living drinking coffee and receiving £10 per client so i need some tips on being strict about my prices as i can be a bit of a pushover :)

Does anyone who works for themselves have a set number of hours/days they work???

Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks in advance

Ballyboo xxxxxxx

Hi hun
Welcome to the site
Check out the Business Link website. Covers pretty much everything you need to know about setting up a business legally. The site is for business in general so there is other stuff you'll need to look at like insurance etc that isn't covered on there. I got a good book from the library for my NVQ because I need to cover that stuff in my coursework. It's one of the official beauty NVQ books but can't remember the exact title.
Hope that helps

Thanks i will check that site out now!! Cheers :)