Severely bitten nails - what should I have done?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

caitey

Reaction score
Hi,

I had a bit of an experience yesterday and just wondered if anyone has any advice for me!
I am a mobile tech, I use ProNails gel and their peel off system and IBX. I have a reputation for caring for the health of the nails and working to grow and repair natural nails.
A lady got in touch with me asking for gel with extensions on her fingers and gel on her toes. We arranged an appointment, via Facebook. I have my number clearly available on my facebook page. I checked FB that morning and no messages, so off I go, 30k (I live in the Algarve so I cover a large area of Expats) and when I get to her road I check FB for her house number and I discover that she has messaged me on FB to cancel.
So we arrange another appointment and when I get there I took a before pic, which I have attached. She has bitten and picked all of her nails to halfway down the nailbed. More in some cases. I tell her it's the worst I have ever seen (I can't believe she's not bleeding everywhere) and explain that I can't use tips as there is not enough nail for them to adhere to. I will have to sculpt them all. I explain that it won't last long as 2/3 to 3/4 of the enhancement is not attached to anything. She says she knows it won't last long but she usually goes to a cheap NSS in England and they put tips on no problem and they stay on for ten days or so.
I spend three hours in there building these nails, putting colour on etc. The shortest one came off as I tried to shape it. She was getting quite vocal about how she really had wanted tips so I put a tip on that one, careful to only get glue on the nail. I just made them all to the end of the finger. Because of the lack of nail, they were angled away from the fingers a little.