Shellac application concern

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Minipig007

Reaction score
Hi All,

I used to be a therapist but haven't done so for a couple of years so count myself as a consumer nowadays.
I've recently found the world of Shellac and, as a lover of CND products, I was really glad to find something that didn't harm the natural nail. I've still got my CND website access so have done my homework and know how it should be applied and removed.

I've had three applications now, all from different therapists at two different salons, and each person has buffed my nails before application. The worst was the second girl who buffed the shellac off but left some "rubble" on my nail before applying "Romantique" over the top! When i asked her about it she got very annoyed and proceeded to file into the shellac to try and remove it and then cover it up again. So, i complained and they re-did my nails for me a few days later by a more experienced therapist... who also buffed the shellac off and buffed my nails. I actually asked her, in conversation, if she needed to go on a course to apply Shellac (pretending not to know anything) and she said she had been on a course.

Am i missing something here? Why are people buffing nails for a shellac application and removal? Have they found something out through trial and error or are they applying their acrylic/gel knowledge to Shellac and not realising the difference?

I would really like your advice as i'm reluctant to go back to a therapist who doesn't apply things correctly (i'm a bit of a perfectionist and always followed my training when i provided treatments so i would normally expect the same from someone giving me a treatment).

There is no need for any sort of buffing during the shellac process at all, either before application or trying to remove it.