Should I stay or should I go?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Reaction score
Hello all, this is a long one so apologies in advance :) ....just looking for a bit of advice on my situation....

I am a beauty therapist working for years in salons and spas and last June I decided to take the plunge and go out on my own, renting a small nail table in a hair salon with 2 stylists and a makeup artist. At first the atmosphere was great, felt like everyone was on the same track/mindset with bringing the 3 businesses together and working as a team. Everything was promised, loads of clients, great footfall, bringing in retail and a computerised system for us all to work off together....

And I will admit, (like any start-up business) it has been very slow going for me and, besides xmas week, I've never really had a week I could call "a great week".
We have 3 separate Facebook pages for the hair/beauty/makeup and I feel it is a bit confusing for clients, but this is how the hair salon wants it done so I go with it.....recently it has just felt extremely stagnant here, the stylists/manger/owner aren't too pushed about business (they get their wage, they have their regulars, they're happy) and the makeup artist doesn't seem to be too pushed about wanting to get busy herself either (I feel for her it's more of a hobby).
It's a hair salon that has been around a while and they seem quite happy to just go with the way things are going and not change anything.