Spray tan gone streaky when washed guide off only

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Carlz30

Reaction score
Hi! I was hoping that someone might be able to help me out. I'm just starting out doing spray tanning. Basically been trying out heaps of different solutions and practicing on friends still. Most of my spray tans have turned out beautifully, so I think my technique is good.

Yesterday I did a spray tan for a friend (who also does spray tanning). Everything looked great, very even application and she dried off thoroughly before getting dressed. We both inspected that I didn't miss any bits and that it was even. We used morrocan tan 12%. Before doing the spray, I did actually notice that the bottle was extremely hot and the lid was not on properly. I questioned her why the solution was so hot and she said it was because it was very hot in the car. I then thought maybe we should use a different solution as there may be something wrong with it being exposed to heat. It has been very hot for the last week. She really wanted to use her solution so we went ahead.

Everything looked fantastic and she left the tan on for about 4 hours, even though it is a 2hr tan. Anyway, when she had a shower and the guide colour was washed off, underneath her tan was all streaky!!!! White lines randomly all over her body!!! It looked almost like parts of her body had been splashed with water or the tan just didn't develop in parts!!

It looked terrible and we have no idea why this happened? I used the same solution on her 2 weeks before and it looked amazing. This has never happened before.