T-Section babylights on coloured hair

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kellymarie_85

Reaction score
Hi all,

This is my first time posting so hopefully I'm getting this right and can hopefully get some help! :)

I have a new client with blonde highlighted hair, but she has recently had her roots coloured using a darker shade (base 7/8 ash, just as a tint - and not done by me). She doesn't like the darker roots, so would like some really fine, natural babylights just as a t-section to brighten it up a little. She doesn't want any lines or any kind of uniformity through the parting. I'll need to bleach the roots first, and am going to use Koleston 9/38 + Pastel developer as a toner. I ideally don't want to use this toner all over.

My thoughts are, rather than foiling, I could pull very fine highlights through a cap, just in the t-section area. Bleach the roots with either 6 or 9%, then brush through the lengths and ends for the last few minutes to brighten/even, rinse off, then the 9/38 all over the highlights for 10 mins to tone, then rinse and remove the cap. I figured this will give a natural, non-uniform result, and the new highlights would just blend in, rather than potentially altering her existing blonde colour all over. Is this a good way to achieve the result she wants, or is there a better way of doing it?

Thank you in advance for any help you can offer! I've recently started out as a freelance hairdresser, and have been out of the salon for a while. This is the first client who is causing me a bit of anxiety though!

K x

You shouldn’t pull long hair through a cap, it’s usually only used for very short hair, up to a couple of inches or so. Otherwise, it creates too much tension on the hair which isn’t a good idea particularly on potentially damaged hair.