The blow dry ... a dying art ?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Personally, I like blow drying my hair. It gives me alot of body, and Makes my hair Very smooth and soft.
Flat irons never were for me. Then again, I don't look good with very flat, straight, shiny hair. :wink2:

I'm not a professional hair stylist but the two salon's I have been to this year all the stylists use a dryer first and then use irons.

I too do the same at home and find the finish last longer and looks better.

PS Good thread

Irish hairdressers are still taught the art of blow drying, it is a very important part of their course.

Every hairdressing salon i have visited here in Ireland are able to give a fantastic blow dry without the use of straighteners.

When i returned home to London, i was shocked when the hairdresser wanted to use straighteners on my hair, and aked her not too. My hair really suffers even after one use of the straighteners, cos its full of blonde colour. She struggled to get my waving hair straight.

I know this is an old thread, but after searching came across it
in college our tutor will not allow us too use straighteners we have been doing blow dry and sets scince middle of september and for sets we are not allowed to use velcro's and for blow drying...no straighteners allowed.......just our round brushes and vent brushes for brushing out sets....there is nothing more satisfying than blowing curly/wavey hair dry with a big round brush....

Hi I love blow drying too I love the challenge of getting a lovely long frizzy head of hair under control ,

I feel a lot of stylists are rushed off their feet eg
just say a long hair blow dry is booked in and you have been allocated just over half an hour ,
what do you do when you see the woman with the thick frizzy hair down to her waist come in through the door ? :eek: