The Chinese Cooking Thread

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Anna Lee

Reaction score
Hello geeks…

Here is the Chinese home cooking thread that I had promised…. Please bear in mind that im not a professional cook… I am only a mother who cooks dinner for my children and family every evening…. Which means my cooking is probably less fancy and maybe less ‘pretty’ than you may have seen or tried at Chinese restaurants..

So first things first… in order for you to cook chinese food.. you must understand the taste and usage of the basic chinese ingredients.. these ingredients are best bought from a Chinese supermarkets cos the real chinese brands has a better taste… or if you really cant get to one then can get from asda or tescos as they usually have an oriental shelf these days..

light soy sauce - salty - to add light salty taste.

dark soy sauce - little less salty than light soy sauce - usually used to add colour,

seseame oil - a strong smell - usually used as a seasoning at the end to add aroma, be careful how you use, little goes a long way

rice wine - to add aroma and taste

cornflour - to lighty coat the meat in marinate and also used to make a sauce in the actual cooking

oyster sauce - have a combination of taste, sweet and salty, can be used with most vegetables, my most used ingredient in my cupboard..!

ginger/garlic/onions/shallots - must go into wok first before everything else.. the idea is.. when ginger and garlic browns.. it releases an aroma which takes away the unpleasent smell of meat which usually follows directly after..

chinese cooking is not as complicated as many people think.. in fact.. basic chinese cooking is one of the easiest ways to cook… there is no actual set way of doing it and everyone will add or take away certain ingredients to accommodate to their own taste..