The Edge - Clear Gel ??

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mrsH

Reaction score
Hi Geeks,

Can anyone help me pls, I currently do Acrylic Nails, although I am a Newbie its going really well.....so I booked onto a Gel Course for next month thinking I would be offering my customers more choice.

Obviously the more practice you have, the better, so I thought who best to have a practice on but ME. From my local wholesalers, I purchased "The Edge" Clear Gel... I was really quite impressed how easy I found it, and the lady at the wholesalers talked me into this by saying Gel was "kinder" to nails, "more hard wearing" and looked "more natural".

I cured it for 3 minutes each coat (as it says on the tub) and was really impressed with the finished look. However, I do not feel that these will last very long as they feel quite...how shall I say.....rubbery!! almost as though I could pick them off. (I put on 3 layers of the build up Gel)

While I would love to offer lots of services to customers, I'm wondering if I am doing the wrong thing by expanding into Gel as I feel that I am really not satisfied with the quality of the job done, especially when compared to how hard wearing Arcylic is. I really feel that the Gel is not strong enough to hold the tips on for very long !!!!

Has anyone else expanded into Gel and either regretted it or really pleased they did so. I am at the point of wondering whether to cancel the course I am booked on and stick with Acrylic. Also has anyone else had the experience of different UV Gels....and if so how does The Edge compare to others.

Many thanks in advance:rolleyes: