Think I'm allergic to hair dye-what can I do now?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LouLola91

Reaction score
Hey,

I trained as a hairdresser (fully qualified) 4-5 years ago but didn't end up pursuing it as a career.
I've been dying my hair for a good 10-12 years with box dyes, pro tints and bleach with zero issues. I'm currently blonde (bleached) all over and naturally ginger.

Weirdly enough I got a box dye few weeks ago, a loreal blonde one which was named this
L'oreal Paris Prf Hair Dye 11.11 Ultra Light Crystal Blonde

I put it on all over and after 3 minutes my head was burning so badly i quickly washed it off and upto a week after my scalp felt somewhat sore and had red patches on my scalp and my skin as a whole felt kinda itchy.

Now I am terrified incase that was an allergic reaction and wondering what to do now. I have really bad roots.

I wondered if it's 100% safe for me to foil in bleach and keeping it away from my roots or could this make me react too or if there are any other options available?
I am able to foil bleach myself or use professional tints
Thank you

I wondered if it's 100% safe for me to foil in bleach and keeping it away from my roots or could this make me react too or if there are any other options available?
Thank you

You cannot guarantee that any product will be 100% safe on every client. That’s why we do skin tests and in the case of bleach, check for any sensitivity during processing.

It does sound like an allergic reaction so definitely skin test before using any other colouring products. If you have any reaction, remove the product immediately.

Hey,

I trained as a hairdresser (fully qualified) 4-5 years ago but didn't end up pursuing it as a career.
I've been dying my hair for a good 10-12 years with box dyes, pro tints and bleach with zero issues. I'm currently blonde (bleached) all over and naturally ginger.