Thinking of going self employed any advice?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Moni23

Reaction score
Hey everyone I’m wanting some advice regarding going self employed, I’ve been hairdressing for the last 15 years employed with a fully booked column & great loyal clientele.. but with lock downs & covid it’s really made me think about what I want & I want to earn more whilst working the hours I want too rather than working my back side off for my bosses & a capped salary.. I have been presented with a new contract & im thinking is this the time to make the leap rather than staying & signing a new Contract when I’ve been thinking of leaving for a while.. the money is the biggest reason I am wanting to make the leap & also the capped 4 Saturdays a year Holiday 🙄
It’s a scary thing making the leap especially when I’m not unhappy where I am but I want to earn more & be my own boss.. do you think I’m doing the right thing?

Will you stay at the same salon? Be careful of your contract about ‘stealing clients’. Although I was advised by a lawyer that it would take time, money and for a client to speak against you in court for any employer to sue you for taking clients with you. I don’t believe a lot of employers would bother following through with any threats. Self employment is amazing if you have a big enough loyal clientele, although be aware that many salons request it on a fake level as a way to get out of your aging for employee benefits. You are only truly self employed if you buy all your own stock, make your own rules and appointments etc. Nobody can dictate your hours, uniform, products, clients and ways you work.
You will need your own insurance, contact details and a legally binding rent contract