Tint did not take on sun bleached hair

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kourea

Reaction score
Hello.
I am a trainee colourist and I have been practicing on my mum. Normally I do a global colour using Majirel Rouge on her. She is 66 and has some grey, but this always covers really successfully. This time she had a lot of lightening in her hair from the sun - it almost looked like someone had put white highlight tips on the ends of her hair on her crown. Anyway, I proceeded to complete the colour today and you can still see some of the tips. The roots took as normal (lifted from her natural dark base which has a little grey but not much) and there are no issues there - it is the colouring over the sun bleached parts that did not seem to take.

My instructor is not back until end of September so I can't ask them. Can anyone explain why this happened and how I might rectify issues such as this in the future? It was left for the time that I always leave it for to develop as per the manufacturer instructions and mixed with 30vol as per manufacturer instructions and guidance from my instructor knowing my mum's hair.

Many thanks.

Using the 30vol and the permanent tint over lighter hair will inevitably leave you with a lighter result not darker. 30vol will lift the hair. What level tint did you put on?

Hello. It was Majicontrast Rouge by L'Oreal. My instructor told me to use 30vol because she needs the lift for her regrowth/natural hair to take the colour, and that was fine. It is the sun bleached parts that are the issue.
Luckily she likes it but it doesn't help me to understand why it happened and how to rectify it if it were to happen with another client in the future. I am not able to contact my instructor as they're currently on holiday to ask their advice and input.