tip cutters

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

novo

Reaction score
Hi folks, I have been using a set of tip cutters for five months and now when I cut tips to size they (tip) look white as if they are about to crack down (hope this makes sense) so i have to file down shorter to get rid of this (like stress marks). Do cutters go blunt, if so how to sharpen them, and how long should they last (how longs a ball of string? Ihave a small client load).
many thanks
pam x

most wholesalers sell replacement blades and springs !
don't know how much they are though!!

novo said:
Hi folks, I have been using a set of tip cutters for five months and now when I cut tips to size they (tip) look white as if they are about to crack down (hope this makes sense) so i have to file down shorter to get rid of this (like stress marks). Do cutters go blunt, if so how to sharpen them, and how long should they last (how longs a ball of string? Ihave a small client load).
many thanks
pam x

Hi Pam, I've had my tip cutters over a year now and they are going strong! I tend once in a while to make sure the blade is still straight and if not I unscrew it and straighten it. Are your cutters on the 'tight' side as that can sometimes cause the white stress marks along with not holding onto the other side of the tip as you cut, also are you cutting in one swift movement as lingering on the tip can cause the same thing. J x

I wonder if you`re using them at the correct angle......Have you taken a step back to have a look at what the problem is???
Its worth a try.

I have been using the same pair of Mehaz tip cutters for 18 month now and have never changed the spring or the blade. They are fantastic. They are the ones that come with the cutting guides (which I never use) and the angled blade. They are FAB.