Training in hair at the age of 39?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

user 60877

Reaction score
Good evening.

I have been thinking of doing hair and go mobile. The problem is I am 39!!!

What do you think? I have no idea what thr training is like so I need an honest opinion.

WISH YOU ALL A HAPPY NEW YEAR :)

When I trained the eldest in my class was 54 I think. Go for it if its what you want to do :)

Hiya I don't think age matters if you have the passion and drive to do hairdressing then why not ? I did my training 7 years ago and did this at college , as for going mobile I think you would need to work within a salon first , like I said I have seven years experience and still ask on here for advice as you never stop learning , if you do an NVQ you will learn the theory side of hair then there's practical such as cutting , colouring ect if you want to do it go for it your never to old to do anything x

Just looked at your profile I trained at Bournemouth college x

39 too old? Like I said to another geek, your only too old when your cold and in a box otherwise follow your heart. Xoxo

I don't think its to old ,but as said above once you qualify you will need to put in a fue years work in a salon before going on your own ,you will keep learning once you qualify and will need the support of more experienced stylists :-D

Sent from my LT18i using SalonGeek

I am 51 in six weeks and I am at college doing level 2 in hairdressing, I am as mad as a box of frogs and have had a crazy 2012 with colour on my hair so at 39 your not old in fact your younngggg!!!

Never to old! Go for it! I would try to get some experience in salon before you go mobile tho! :) happy new year! X

It's not too old!

I started my VRQ2 at age 39 and now doing my NVQ2 qualification.