Wax burn, is it?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Perls Beauty

Reaction score
Hi Geeks

I have been waxing for a few months now, and haven't encountered any problems with burns as I always test the wax on my inner wrist as trained.

I waxed a ladies eyebrows on Monday with warm wax, and the first one was fine, the second made her shout a bit but was more hairy, and then when I put the cleanser/cooling gel on afterwards she said it stung a bit. No problems after a few minutes, and she stayed for a pedicure too.

She called me later to say that the one eyebrow that had been sore had now come up looking like it was a burn on the skin in one little patch. I sugested that she use some E45 to look after it, and avoid anything too strong/antiseptic for the immediate 24hours which she has done, and she says that today it has stopped hurting, but that it does look like a burn.

Is it possible to burn one eyebrow and not the other?? The wax temperature was not altered at all during the procedure, and as I said, I tested it each time anyway.

Thankfully she is a friend of mine too, so she is being really understanding about it, and actually wants to know when she can have them done again as she gets married in 5 weeks time and had booked to have them re-done a coupld of days before the wedding!

Anyhelp, suggestions, warnings etc. would be greatly appreciated. I'm already thinking that I will use hot wax next time?!

Many thanks,
Lorraine