Waxing causing skin irritation?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jadeycb

Reaction score
Hi, I have one client in particular who has recently been left with soreness & scabs under the eyebrow after an eyebrow wax with me, even though I have been doing her eyebrows for years & no problem before. I have been a therapist for several years, I know that the wax isn't too hot as I always test on myself before applying to the client. I have tried changing the brand of wax as I was sure they had changed the ingredients, but it did it again and I felt awful. I asked if she is on any medication & she said no. She has had heart palpitations in the past & got put on medication then but does not currently need it anymore. Could this be the reason for thinner skin? I also did her lip wax & that area was fine?
Then, just the other day, I did a lady who suffers from eczema and the same also happened. Could it be I'm not stretching the skin enough? Or am I applying the wax too thickly? Or do eczema sufferers often get this problem?
I've never had this happen to me in nearly 10 years of practise, any thoughts please? Have any of you had this problem before & worked out the problem?
It's starting to knock my confidence. Thanks.

There are quite a lot of threads on this problem but not many solutions.

This can happen for several reasons. If your client is using a vitamin a based skin care this can happen. If your client is hot and has rushed to get to you, this can happen. If your client has just jumped in the shower and come to you, this can happen, and sometimes it can just happen.

You can use a little oil under the brow or you can use a non strip wax which is gentler but I often find if it's happened once, it can often happen again, so I pluck or thread but I'm really crap at threading :(

Vic x